Preludes (I-III) By George Gershwin, Piano

Preludes (I-III) By George Gershwin, Piano

Alfred Music

  • $ 12.95


Gershwin's three most famous preludes demonstrate his genius for piano writing. "Prelude I" exudes energetic syncopation, "Prelude II" is a lyric blues, and "Prelude III" closes the set with exciting syncopations.

These three short preludes show Gershwin's mastery of the melding of jazz and classical idioms. The Allegro ben ritmato e deciso is filled with rhythmic, syncopated rhythms and is a showpiece for bravura performance. Andante con moto e poco rubato is a lyric blues with ostinato-like accompaniment, interspersed with bridge material. Allegro ben ritmato e deciso, the brilliant closing to the set, displays dramatic writing with craggy rhythms and exciting syncopation. A powerful concert work.

Series: Alfred's Classic Editions
Composed by: George Gershwin
Instrument: Piano
Page Count: 12
Item Number: 00-PS0043
ISBN 10: 0-7692-6009-8
ISBN 13: 978-0-7692-6009-9
UPC: 723188800438

We Also Recommend