Stravinsky, Igor - The Rite of Spring arr. David Dutkanicz - Introduction ''A Kiss of The Earth'' // Dance of the Young Maidens - Cello & Piano

Carl Fischer LLC

  • $ 12.99
  • Save $ 3.51

The Rite of Spring - Movements I and II Arranged for Cello and Piano
Igor Fyodorovich Stravinsky
Arranged by David Dutkanicz

I. Introduction - A Kiss of the Earth
II. Dance of the Young Maidens

On May 29, 1913, an over-capacity audience in Paris’ Théâtre des Champs-Élysées witnessed an historical spectacle as they became a brute catalyst in the most (in)famous opening night of the twentieth century. The Rite of Spring premiered that evening in the midst of a riot, inspired by the overwhelming primitivism both onstage and in the score. One hundred-plus years later, the music still incites the senses. The ballet was first published in 1914 in a reduction for two pianos, and serves as a basis for this arrangement. This edition is presented in honor of the centennial of the ballet’s premiere, and is intended to give soloists and accompanists a chance to perform two movements from this monumental work. The movements can be performed separately, and the first movement can be played as a solo without piano accompaniment. For advanced players.

Instrumentation: Violoncello, Piano
Item Number: B3448
EAN: 0798408091156
UPC: 798408091156
ISBN: 9780825891151 (0825891159)
Number of Pages: 8 + 20
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music

We Also Recommend